The Seven Wonders of World PNG Transparent Images

Submitted by on May 28, 2021

Download top and best high-quality free The Seven Wonders of World PNG Transparent Images backgrounds available in various sizes. To view the full PNG size resolution click on any of the below image thumbnail.

License Info: Creative Commons 4.0 BY-NC


The Seven Wonders of World includes Chichen Itza, Christ the Redeemer, Great Wall of China, Machu Picchu, Petra, Taj Mahal, and Colosseum.

Various lists of the Wonders of the World have been compiled from antiquity to the present day, to catalogue the world’s most spectacular natural wonders and human-built structures.

The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World is the first known list of the most remarkable creations of classical antiquity; it was based on guidebooks popular among Hellenic sightseers and only includes works located around the Mediterranean rim and in Mesopotamia. The number seven was chosen because the Greeks believed it represented perfection and plenty, and because it was the number of the five planets known anciently, plus the sun and moon. Many similar lists have been made.

The lighthouse of Alexandria, the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, the Temple of Artemis, and the statue of Zeus was destroyed. The location and ultimate fate of the Hanging Gardens are unknown, and it is assumed that they did not exist at all.

The Greek conquest of much of the known western world in the 4th century BC gave Hellenistic travelers access to the civilizations of the Egyptians, Persians, and Babylonians. Impressed and fascinated by the sights and wonders of different countries, these travelers began to list what they saw in order to remember them.


Instead of “wonder” the ancient Greeks spoke of “thematic” (θεάματα), which means “sights” in other words, “things worth seeing” (Τὰ ἑπτὰ θεάματα τῆς οἰκουμένη [γῆς] Tà heptà theámata tēs oikoumenēs [gēs]). Later, the word “wonder” was used (“traumata” θααματα, “wonders”). Thus, the list had to be similar to the ancient world guidebook.

The first mention of a list of seven such monuments was given by Diodorus of Siculus. The epigrammist Antipater of Sidon, who lived about 100 BC, provides a list of seven such monuments, including six from this list (replacing the walls of Babylon for the lighthouse):

Another columnist of the 2nd century BC, who calls himself the Byzantine mathematician Philo, wrote a story called “The Seven Sights of the World.” However, the incomplete extant manuscript covers only six of the seven alleged sites that are consistent with Antipater’s list.

Earlier and later listings of the historian Herodotus (484 BC – ca. 425 BC) and the architect Callimachus of Cyrene (ca. 305–240 BC) Stored in the Alexandria Museum, preserved only in the form of reference.

Download The Seven Wonders of World PNG images transparent gallery.

Related PNG:

Leave a Comment